What is the Meaning & Definition of Tanzania

Tanzania is one of Africa's largest countries. This country is located in the East of the continent, sharing its borders with the countries of Uganda, Kenya, Burundi, Zambia, Malawi, Congo, Rwanda, Mozambique and the Indian Ocean to the East. The Tanzania surface is around of 945 thousand square kilometers, while its population of about 45 million people, is what makes that its population density is very high. The capital of Tanzania is the city of Dodoma, but the most important is that of Dar es Salaam.
Tanzania is a free country since 1961, time in which attained its independence from the United Kingdom to become, three years later, the combination of regions of Tanganyika and Zanzibar. Today, the Government of this country is a Republic with a President and a Prime Minister. The country is divided into 26 regions among which we find to Arusha, Dodoma, Kagera, Singida, Tanga, Mbeya, Pemba North, Mwanza and many others.
The geography and climate of Tanzania are very particular. While in the Northeast the territory is marked by the highest mountains of the Mainland (which include the impressive Mount Kilimanjaro), Northeast we find great lakes that completely change the geography and soil. Due to its location on the map, Tanzania has a tropical climate with moderate temperatures even though near mountainous areas it becomes cooler and wetter.
Most of the population of Tanzania profess the Muslim religion, though there are also a significant number of Christians. However, the culture of this country is strongly marked by the traditions and ancestral customs of the tribes which formerly existed in the area and that is why the identity of the inhabitants of Tanzania is very rich and is composed of several elements.
Article contributed by the team of collaborators.

Recommended Contents