3. The seven natural wonders of the world


The seven wonders of the world natural is an international competition inspired by the list of «the new seven wonders of the modern world». The initiative came from the Swiss Bernard Weber, founder of the company: New Open World Corporation (NOWC), organizer of the initial event.
The project, in the initial phase had a total of 454 nominees; then held a second phase in which 261 candidates passed the round; These were 77, among which a panel of experts chose the 28 finalists who participated in the last stage of the contest
These 28 finalists were subjected to an open vote controlled by the brand owner website new7wonders.com, where is stipulated and published conditions and showed the evolution of the consultation. Finally, on November 11, 2011 were unveiled, first the 14 that remained as the most voted, and hours later the «seven natural wonders of the world», provisionally elected. Seven, the officially confirmed are the underground river in Palawan, the island Jeju, Iguassu Falls and the Amazon.

The owners of one of the seven natural wonders of the world countries.

(South Africa) table mountain

Table (Table Mountain) mountain is a mountain top flat is a well-known prominent place that dominates the Cape Town in South Africa, which is represented in the flag of Cape Town and other logos of local governments.

It is a major tourist attraction, with many visitors using the cableway or by hiking to reach the top. The mountain is part of the table Mountain National Park.

The main feature of the table mountain is a plateau at approximately 3 km from side to side, surrounded by steep cliffs, which is flanked by the Pico del Diablo (Devil's Peak) to the East and by the head of lion (Lion's Head) to the West, which forms a dramatic backdrop to the city of Cape Town and the table Bay Harbour, and together with Signal Hill form the natural amphitheatre of the City Bowl.


Iguazu falls (Argentina and Brazil)

The Iguazu falls are located in the province of Misiones, in the Iguazu National Park, Argentina, and the Iguaçu National Park of the State of Paraná, Brazil; they are also close to the border between Paraguay and Argentina, only 13.8 km in a straight line.

The falls are formed by 275 falls of up to 80 m high, fed by the flow of the Iguazu River. Walks can be by boat under the waterfalls and hiking trails appreciating some semi-tropical jungle animals.

A show apart is its leap greater flow, and with 80 m, also the highest: the throat of the devil, which can be enjoyed in all its Majesty from only 50 m, along the catwalks that depart from port canoes, which can be reached using the eco-friendly train service. By this jump passed the border between both countries.

Amazon (Peru)

The Amazon is a vast region of the central and northern part of South America which includes the basin of the Amazon rainforest. The adjacent region of Guyana also has rainforests, by what often is considered part of the Amazon.

The Amazon rainforest is the largest tropical forest in the world. It is considered that their extension reaches 6 million km² divided between eight countries, of which Brazil and the Peru have the largest expanse of the Amazon, followed by Colombia, Bolivia, Ecuador, Guyana, Venezuela, Surinam and French Guiana.

The Amazon is notable for being one of the ecoregions with the greatest biodiversity in the world.

From the cultural point of view the Amazon is one of the most diverse regions of the planet. The indigenous peoples of the region belong to different linguistic groups, among which a clear phylogenetic relationship, has not been tested which suggests that both cultural diversity as a Linguistics dates back to thousands of years ago.


Halong (Viet Nam)

Ha Long Bay (in Vietnamese: Hội Ha Long), also called Halong Bay or Along Bay, is an extension of water of approximately 1,500 km2. Located to the North of Viet Nam, in the province of Quang Ninh, in the Gulf of Tonkin, near the Chinese border, 170 km east of Hanoi.

Extends along a coastline of 120 km. the presence of karstic elements and Islands of various shapes and sizes.

It was declared as world heritage by Unesco in 1994 and expanded the Declaration in the year 2000. Covers an area of 150,000 has. In addition, it is from the November 11 one of the seven natural wonders of the world. 


Jeju Island (South Korea)

Jeju special autonomous province is the only special autonomous province of South Korea. Its territory comprises the greater size of the country, Jeju Island, island and lies in the Korea Strait, southwest of the South Jeolla province, of which it was part until 1946. Its capital is the city of Jeju.

Formerly known in the West as Quelpart, Jeju Island is a volcanic island dominated by the mountain is an extinct volcano of 1950 m of height, which is the highest peak in South Korea.

The island was formed for hundreds of millions of years, as a result of volcanic eruptions, and consists primarily of basalt and lava. It has a subtropical, warmer climate than the rest of Korea, where he distinguished four seasons; part of the summer is rainy, and the winter is very dry.



Komodo (Indonesia)

Komodo is a small island of Indonesia in the Lesser Sunda Islands. It is famous for harboring the Komodo dragons. Administratively, it belongs to the East Nusa Tenggara province.

The island belongs to the Pacific of fire belt and therefore is of volcanic origin. Its high point is Mount Satalibo (Gunung Satalibo), 735 m altitude.

Its main town is the Komodo village, on the East coast of the island, whose inhabitants live from fishing and activities related to the Komodo National Park. Its population was approximately 30 people in 1928, but due to immigration from other islands in the region reached 1169 people in 1999. The rest of the Islanders are divided into a few villages scattered along the coast of the island.

6. National Park of KOMODO

National Park of the underground river in Palawan (Philippines)

The Puerto Princesa subterranean River National Park is located in the island of Palawan, Philippines. This park combines a fantastic karst landscape of limestone with an underground river. One of the characteristics of the river is that it flows directly into the sea, and in its lower part is influenced by tides. The place is one of the most important forests in Asia.

The park covers 5,753 hectares and is home to eleven different ecosystems, from a humid forest of the mountains to the ocean and reefs. Here there is also a variety of endemic animals threatened, including pheasant, the Batwing Fox, Otter Aonyx cinerea, small pandas, the Civet and stink Badgers Badger.

It was declared world heritage by Unesco in 1999. It was also declared one of the seven wonders of the natural world on November 11, 2011.



Recommended Contents