Regions of France - part I

France always has been and will be one of the most desirable tourist destinations in the world. And its not only attraction is Paris, also the regions of France hidden reasons to travel.
Ile de France
It is the region where the capital, Paris, is located and which comprises eight departments. It is the most populated region of France, and has more inhabitants than Belgium, Sweden or Greece: almost 12 million inhabitants, despite the fact that is one of the smaller French regions. It is one of the regions with the highest income per capita in the world. It has a temperate climate
Nord Pas de Calais
This region was formed in the 18th century from territories of Flanders. It has an influential Belgian, which is its boundary to the Northwest. Its main attraction is the obligatory across the Strait or gateway to France by Calais.
The Nord-Pas de Calais region is the northernmost of the metropolitan France, and only two departments form it: North and Pas-de-Calais. Also includes a small area originally speaking neelandesa, on the outskirts of Dunkerque. Also here are some places to visit such as Boulogne-sur-Mere, Arras and its capital, Lille.
Picardy is located to the North, bordering on the regions of the Nord-Pas de Calais, champagne-Ardenne, Isle of France and Haute-Normandie. To the Northeast it borders with Belgium.
We could perfectly put together a tour of Gothic cathedrals by this small territory, as the important architectural work: The Cathedral of Amiens
Here, except in the South end, a regional language called "Picardy", which is part of the languages of oil, is spoken and had its heyday in the 13th century.
High and low Normandy
This region was created in 1956, when Normandy was divided into Basse-Normandie and Haute-Normandie. This division remains somewhat controversial, with any request to regroup. It is the youngest region of France with 36.5% of the population under 25 years of age.
A region that all associate the landing in World War II. It is also home to one of the most visited points of France: the Mont St.Mitchel.
Champagne Ardennes
Champagne-Ardenne groups four departments: Aube, Ardennes, Haute-Marne, and Marne. It was created in 1790, during the French Revolution and includes a part of the former provinces of champagne and Argonne and the Principality of Sedan. During the 20th century, Champagne-Ardenne was the scene of important battles of the first and second world wars.
His name is synonymous with the world's most famous wines, since only the sparkling wines of this area can carry the name of "champagne".
It is a very rich region of architecturally beautiful Gothic cathedrals as Troyes, and some cities worthy of knowing, as Reims. A city with an extensive history.
Alsace and Lorraine
Alsace is a region situated to the East of the country, on the border with Germany and Switzerland. The territory of Alsace, which extends mostly on the Western margin of the high Valley of the River Rhine, with whom limited to the East and North, forms a plateau known as the plain of Alsace
The region was the subject of conflicts and disputes between France and Germany, on changing the sovereignty from the periods following armed clashes between the two Nations, that are more "German" regions of France, United and separated from German territory by the Rhine River
Its capital, Strasbourg is a beautiful city clearly showing the influence of the neighboring country in their facades and customs. Its interior landscape, shows us fields, vineyards and small villages facing the river.
Alsatian is a dialectal language and all varieties of Germanic origin who speak it, but do not yet have an official language status.
Britain is a historical region, formerly province and Duchy, Northwest of France. Stretched by the current departments of Finistère, Côtes-d'Armor, Morbihan, Ille and Vilaine, and Loire-Atlantique. The latter no longer belongs to the region of Britain, but the region of Pays de la Loire.
It comprises the peninsula which extends about 240 km to the Atlantic Ocean between North channel, and the Bay of Biscay to the South. Overlooking the English channel, the French region has a predominantly maritime character. Coasts and beaches concentrated the attention of the traveler.
The towns of Auray, Concarneau, Dinan, Fougères, Nantes, Quimper, Rennes, Saint-Malo, Vannes and Vitre are gathered in the Union of cities of art and history of Britain and are committed to preserve and enrich its architectural and cultural heritage, such as monasteries, forts, castles with defensive structures, and a valuable prehistoric heritage sites as Carnac.
It is a Department located in the Rhône-Alpesregion. Cities such as Saint-Étienne, Saint Chamond, Roanne, Saint-just, Saint-Rambert, Anjou, or castles like Saumur, leads us to want to explore this territory between the river and the sea.
It is an area where the history of the middle ages was developed based on alliances, wars and marriages, through Norman, Flemish and French hands on successive occasions.
Vía: visitandoelmundo

Recommended Contents