Meaning and Definition of Clarinet | Concept and What is.

What is the Clarinet?

The clarinet is a musical instrument of wind. As part of the family of the wooden instrument, is specially manufactured with ebony. It consists of a cylindrical tube with holes that are plugged with fingers or keys. It is one of the main instruments in an orchestra.

The clarinet is an evolution of an instrument that was very popular in France called Chalumeau. It consisted of a cylinder of wood with seven holes and a tongue. In the 7th century, Johann Denner began a series of studies and works to improve the Chalumeau. The changes made include a lengthening of more or less 50 centimeters, a modification to the mouthpiece tube so stay in touch with the musician and an addition of two holes and two keys. Since 1732, the instrument has been known as the clarinet. He joined the Orchestra in the 18th century and included in schedules of great composers.

The clarinet consists of five parts: nozzle, skipjack, upper body, lower body and hood. The mouthpiece is the part that has contact with the mouth of the musician; It has built-in a Reed which vibrates with the introduced air and produces the sound. The tongue is attached to the nozzle by a piece called clamp which can be of wire, leather, plastic or metal; the type of material in this part affects the sound. The keg is a cylindrical piece that is continuation of the nozzle. This piece can be inserted and removed from the top by sharper or more severe the sound of the clarinet. The upper body and the lower contains holes and keys that will make the notes to play the instrument. Between the two they have 17 keys. In addition, they contain structures such as shoes, which are parts that cover the holes; the springs, which reset the keys after being touched; the pillars, responsible for securing keys and corks, which avoid the blows of the keys with the wood and therefore the sound that would occur. Finally, is the campaign that projected the sound of the clarinet and keying the nearby notes.

There are several types of Clarinets called in order of size: Clarinet in e-flat or requinto, in c, in b flat, in La, alto, contralto, bass and double bass. The e flat clarinet measures 45 centimeters, while the contrabass clarinet is 3 meters. The most widely used is the clarinet in b flat.

Are many works throughout history; some of them are: Concerto for clarinet and Clarinet Quintet (Mozart), concerts 1 and 2, Concertino for Clarinet Quintet with clarinet and theme and variations on an aria from Sylvana (Carl Maria von Weber), Sonatas 1 & 2, Quintet with clarinet and Trio for piano, clarinet and cello (Johannes Brahms), Rhapsody for clarinet and piano (Claude Debussy), Concerto for clarinet (Aaron Copland) and 3 pieces for solo clarinet (Ígor Stravinsky), among many others.

Some prominent clarinetists Sabine Meyer, Henri Bok, Alessandro Carbonare, Philippe Cuper, Eddie Daniels, Guy Deplus, Kari Kriikku and Sharon Kam, among others.
Translated for educational purposes.
Meanings, definitions, concepts of daily use

Recommended Contents