What kinds of galaxies there are in the universe | Earth, Solar System and Universe.

When using powerful telescopes, most of the galaxies is only detected mixed all stars light; However, the closest show individual stars. Galaxies are a variety of ways.
In 1930 Edwin Hubble classified the galaxies in elliptical, spiral, or irregular. The first two classes are more frequent.

Elliptical galaxies

Some galaxies have a globular full profile with a bright core. These galaxies, elliptical calls, normally contain a large population of old stars, little gas and dust, and some stars of new formation. Elliptical galaxies have great variety of sizes, from Giants to dwarfs. In the photo, the elliptical Galaxy of the hat.
Hubble symbolized the elliptical galaxies with the letter E and subdivided them into eight classes, from the E0, almost spherical, up to the E7, usiformes. In elliptical galaxies star concentration diminishes from the core, which is small and very bright, towards its edges.

Spiral galaxies

Spiral galaxies are flat discs that contain not only some old stars but also a large population of young stars, enough gas and dust, and molecular clouds that are the birth place of the stars.
Generally, a weak old star halo surrounds the disk, and is often a smaller nuclear bulge that emits two jets of energy in opposite directions.
Spiral galaxies are designated with the letter S (spiral). Depending on the minor or major development holding each arm, is assigned a letter a, b or c (Sa, Sb, Sc, SBa, SBb, SBc).
There are other intermediate between elliptical and spiral galaxies, called lenticular or normal lenticular, identified as OS and classified in groups SO1, SO2 and SO3. At the same time, are the barred lenticular (SBO), which are classified into three groups, according to submit more or less defined and bright bar.

Irregular galaxies

Irregular galaxies are symbolized with the letter I or go, although they tend to be dwarf or common. Those galaxies that do not have well-defined structure and symmetry are included in this group. They are classified as irregular type 1 or Magellan, which contain large amounts of young stars and interstellar matter, and irregular galaxies of type 2, less frequent and whose content is hard to identify.
Irregular galaxies are usually next to larger galaxies, and often contain large amounts of young stars, gas, and cosmic dust.
Published for educational purposes

Recommended content